[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/adv/ - Advice

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: Dcxco80X0AA5uTn.jpg (28 KB, 634x483)
28 KB
28 KB JPG
Apologies if this is long, I really need work advice.

Some key things about me:
>Raised in below working class family, very insecure about money.
>Unemployment is sky high here.
>I've only had the one job and one boss, so I'm unfamilar with office politics.
>I see the world in 'brownie points'. I go out of my way to do things for people to get 'brownie points' and I avoid confrontation incase I lose 'brownie points'.

I work as a researcher at a research institute, but I don't have a fixed contract. Instead, the boss hires me for pieces of work and I undercharge for my work to encourage him to keep hiring me so I can afford to eat. The staff at the institute are incredibly busy and not a lot of progress gets made on work. For example, we're sitting on a big database from 2014 and my boss hired me to do a piece of work on improving it and making it better.

Because everyone is so busy, I made peace with the idea that I would be writing the research papers on this project, but I wasn't charging money for them. I told my paper ideas to my boss and he told me to call him.