[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/out/ - Outdoors

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: fukuoka.jpg (19 KB, 264x353)
19 KB
19 KB JPG
Hey /out/
I would like to ask for your advice, situation is the following:
I graduated a week ago, so now i have a degree in horticulture. My long term goal is to save up enough money to buy a 1,5-2 ha land in my home country (Eastern Europe region) where I can set up a smallscale organic farm. To achieve this, i have to get a job and grind first. I would like to work in my field, but i can not make money out of that around here. So I'm thinking about going west for a couple of years, to get my hands dirty with some full-time or seasonal farm/outdoors work. Any help is appreciated, point me to forums, share your experience, tips, stories. I'm really desperate here.
>>
>>1180057
WWOOF
World wide opportunities on organic farms
>>
>>1180063
Thanks anon. I checked WWOOF, but it mostly seems to be about unpayed volunteer-work. Maybe my original post was not clear, I want to save up money for the future. I want to go abroad mainly for that reason. Is it possible to transition to a paying position after WWOOF-ing? To find out about local opportunities during volunteering? I really like some of the stuff on WWOOF, but I am already in my mid 20s, so I have the urge to consider future goals as well.
>>
>>1180057
I know you're asking for questions OP, but I'd like to ask you how was it working for that degree in horticulture? I'm interested in something like that as well since I also want to start an organic community farm in my area, although I'm in the US.
>>
>>1181935