[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

I'm a beginner at drawing.
I'm a 30 y/o programmer, and got the taste for drawing from making concept art for some games I made.

I'm learning through YouTube channels mostly.

I'm using an app called What to Draw. It randomly generates a situation for me to sketch.

These are some I made. Can you guys point me to what should I study?

Those are respectively:
1- A mage minotaur on a swamp
2- A female half-orc blind ninja
3- A female lizard-woman warlord with a spear
4- A possessed puppet
5- A space-cowboy with a rifle
>>
Elf healer in a cave
Astronaut on a boat
A cleric llama in a labyrinth
>>
The first things you have to learn are:
1. How to resize your scans to less than 1mb file size
2. Prepare analog art for digital view. Try cropping and the levels dialog in Photoshop
>>
>>3710474
>>3710481
For what it's worth OP it definitely looks like beginner's work, but you have plenty of potential to hit the ground running. I especially like the llama in a labyrinth. It shows that you have at least most basic understanding of perspective and the cartoonybstyle, while technically flawed, has character. I also like how you subtly hinted at a reflection with the astronaut on a boat.

That goes without saying that all of your figures are flat, and you obviously have poor proportion awareness. You are also drawing with a lot of symbols.