[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/lit/ - Literature

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: pbuh.jpg (826 KB, 2510x1284)
826 KB
826 KB JPG
How do you guys keep up with new books? As an amateur writer I want to be more aware of what kind of books are getting published these days. I don't think I've read anything published after 2000 or any debut.
>inb4 why would you want read new books
>inb4 only women and gays write books nowadays
>inb4 OP can't inb4
>>
>>23477700
>How do you guys keep up with new books?
I don't. Eventually the cream of the crop just raises on its own and is presented to me second hand already filtered for overhyped normie junk
Used book shops are already overflowing with sally rooney and that little life novel
>>
>>23477700
I've always had more of an interest in older works. You can inb4 it, but the modern market is quite shit, and more to the point: You can't rely on people to recommend you stuff. But I do read short stories, which is a good way to scout out new writers without having to plow through entire novels. I've found one writer from my own country who's decent, and I'll probably buy her one full length novel.
>>
Some magazines and newspapers employ people called critics just to plough through a bunch of new releases and write up their findings to save you the job of doing it yourselves.