[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/p/ - Photography

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

Hello people

Ive been shooting 35mm point and shoots for 4 years now. For the past 2 ive been shooting with a Yashica T4.

My problem is that all too often the focus is out, and as its auto focus only, theres not much I can do about this.

Ive considered that the camera may be faulty but im not sure. Do you think its faulty or its just typical of a point and shoot camera?

Also if you have any good recommendations for a camera thats like a point and shoot but with a little more focus control.

Cheers guys
>>
>>3322566
>a point and shoot but with a little more focus control.
Olympus XA2 has a zone focusing system and is well regarded. Can be found for less than $40 on ebay (prices are kinda high nowadays).
>>
bump
>>
>>3322570
Thank you mate
>>
I've used a lot of 35mm point and shoot cameras...usually multiple copies. The T4 had the least reliable AF by a decent margin. It was also pretty damn slow to focus.

XA2 is a good option with more control. It won't be nearly as sharp as your T4 though.

If I were you, I'd suck it up and get something slightly bigger like an Olympus 35RC.
>>
>>3322605
>It won't be nearly as sharp as your T4 though.
If OP's camera fails to focus properly, a XA2 would be an upgrade regardless, wouldn't it?
>>
>>3322609
XA2 doesn't have any autofocus, you choose between three focus lengths (close, medium, far) although the close length never seems to work for me. It's more of a street photography camera since you can keep it on the middle distance and use it for snapshits.
>>