[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/diy/ - Do It Yourself

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

Anyone here installs windows for a living, if so what are some tips you have to a greenhorn?
I just got hired to do it but I have no experience whatsoever, how fucked am I?
>>
>what are some tips

If you're under the age of 30 you probably need to be told to put your goddamned phone away.
>>
>>2800091
I need the phone to watch youtube videos and ask chatgpt how to do the job.
>>
>>2800078
lurking for advice on how to properly measure a window to find a replacement
>>
Window flashing tape along the bottom of the rough opening. Put the window in the rough opening. Shim it plumb and square to the building. Don't let it fall. Pop some screws into the framing through the side where nobody will see 'em. Use the flange if it has one. Make sure that the window opens and closes properly. If it doesn't adjust your screws and shims maybe. Go outside and put window flashing tape along the sides; start low and work your way up to shed water properly. Some people leave the bottom untaped. I don't care if you do it or not. Go back inside and spray expanding foam around the whole thing. While it dries, go outside and trim out the window. Go back inside and cut off any excess foam if there is any. Trim out the window inside. Make sure (again) that the window opens and closes properly. Clean up after yourself.
>>
>>2800149
measure the size of the opening, find the replacement window that is the size of the opening in lowes and buy it
>>
>>2800078