[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/g/ - Technology

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

What is the utility of this (or other shells) over Bash? I know Bash is standard and I know it pretty well already. I have been using this for a few months now and am still having trouble understanding why I would use this as my daily shell.
>>
It's essentially an improved bash for interactive use. It's also extremely riceable if you're bored.
>>
zsh is bash for proprietary os's due to it's license
>>
ricetranny choice, there's nothing of value in it that bash cannot do
>>
>>100169691
More easily configured tab completion really. The main reason I use it is for history completion, type the first couple letters of a command you’ve previously used and press up and it’ll only give you the relevant history instead of everything.

You can do everything in bash with scripts and shit, but zsh offers it out of the box to some extent. It also offers a few niceties when scripting but they’re not that useful because you’re either writing scripts for bash or sh unless it’s only for personal use.
>>
>>100169891
You can use Ctrl + r to search history in bash.
>>
>>100169972
I used this only a few times in my entire life, I only need commands that I wrote <10min ago
>>
>>100169691
Better completion and guessing. Fish remembers my last used command *in this directory* which is amazing
>>
>>100170110