[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/g/ - Technology

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: 34-236-359-03.jpg (116 KB, 1280x960)
116 KB
116 KB JPG
Hey, I'm an engineering student who is looking for a high end work/school laptop. I have already done a bit of shopping around but I figured that I should ask you guys before making any hard decisions.

My previous laptop (An acer Helios 500 i7 2070-S MQ model) simply was not able to handle the 3d modeling software that I was working with and ended up dying within 2 years of using it. AFAIK it was either a battery issue or a stick of ram got jostled out of place, however because on this particular model of laptop you are required to remove the entire motherboard in order to access the ram I ended up voiding the warranty while I was messing around with it. Either way, it would take literal hours to render CAD files and when you're busy working and doing school you cant be waiting for hours while you're laptop is busy.

Long story short I am considering getting the ROG Zephyrus Duo 16 2023 edition. Yes I am aware that it is in fact a whacky ass laptop, and its expensive as all hell (I have a decent paying job, and I would much rather buy an expensive laptop and not have to worry for 5 years than get something I am not satisfied with), but I am used to 2 monitors and it should be able to handle even higher end 3d modeling if my understanding of GPU to 3d modeling is correct.