[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/adv/ - Advice

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: 1721288313133617.jpg (20 KB, 739x415)
20 KB
20 KB JPG
I work as a cashier and I am constantly stressed about getting sacked since the economy is shit and small towns are poop, also I am getting old. I probably should get a completely new career but I just can't find anything at all I could imagine doing. I have been to like 4 or 5 different counsellors, taken tests and talked to pros with no luck. I could work in a store all my life, but the uncertainty and fear of never getting another job if I low this (since I have no other experiences or expertise, so if in a year nobody needs a helpful man in a shop I am fucking dead) is killing me.
>>
>>31682936
Start saving more in case you get sacked
Start applying to random ass jobs, far and wide
Apply to a big box store?
Go to a temp agency if you need work RIGHT AWAY
>>
>>31682957
What could 35-40 yo do with only experience in stores?
>>
It doesn't sound like the job is the problem- a dead end job usually means that you have someone subsidizing your lifestyle, but the flip side to that coin is that you don't have fear of homelessness and being destitute as a motivator. Which, in its own way, is a shame.
Entry level jobs like yours are not meant to be long term jobs. Either you move up or you move on.