[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/adv/ - Advice

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

Good evening anons,

How do I deal with university idiots who think they're smart and big because of the closeted nature of how university works?
I'm a student that is transferring to a very prestigious public uni in a month. I've had mixed feelings about university and higher education. I'm a first generation college student, but am regarded as intelligent.
Having been all my life an independent learner, I haven't been able to really associate my ego with what I learn or what grades I get. I have just had an interest in things, and have gone deep enough to know things well

Getting graded on stuff based off arbitrary rules isn't fun at all. I know that the system is standardized for a certain reason. What can I do to avoid, challenge, and dominate people who make university their whole personality? Understand I say dominate because they would not hesitate to throw me by the wayside to look good themself
I value myself on other things, like my good works, self care, and how I do things in the world
>>
>>31691914
>graded on arbitrary stuff

If you major in STEM, this wouldn’t be a problem. Empirical grading.
>>
>>31691914
>my good works, self care, and how I do things in the world
? So do other college students

That’s why you are encouraged to volunteer, to stay healthy(emotionally and physically), and to find internships / social groups
>>
>>31691932