[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/an/ - Animals & Nature

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

Hello, I've been into fishkeeping for about a year now. I'm still learning, and would like to create a better habitat for these guys for the long term. I have my business license and aquatic license, and have multiple tanks set up where i breed and sell various fish to pet stores, but my community tank is my prize. So far I have

>7 Guppies (with 17 fry)
>2 Platys
>1 Bushynose Pleco
>4 Mystery Snails
>34 Fire Red Neocardinia Shrimp
>6 Kuhli Loaches
>3 Assassin snails

Planted I have
>Assorted stem carpet
>Dwarf Grass
>1 Anubia
>Large Amazon Leaf
>2, i think they're called Bacopa?
>30 stems of Mayaca
>2 sheets of Java Moss

Ideally i'd like to only do water changes once a month, so what can i do plant-wise to make sure this is suitable?

Also, my shrimp and guppy population are exploding despite reduced feeding, are there any creatures i can add that will control the population without decimating them?
>>
>>4879632
Can't really comment on population control as I've never kept guppies and wanted my shrimp population to grow. As for plants, you probably have enough to work with for your water maintenance goals. Could you provide details on what you do for your plants currently? Any fertilizers, root tabs, enriched substrate, etc.?
>>
>>4879632
>so what can i do plant-wise to make sure this is suitable?
Nothing, just don't let them dry out.
>>
>>4879632