[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ck/ - Food & Cooking

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: IMG_4967.jpg (2.78 MB, 4032x3024)
2.78 MB
2.78 MB JPG
How did I do with my onigiri? This is my first time making them as a gaijin, so apologies if I have fucked them up. I had a burst on the left, but the ones on the right look okay I think.

Recipe I used is this:

Rice ball:
Salt
Mirin
Water
Short grain white rice

Filling:
Katsuobushi
Mayo
Soy Sauce
Salt

They turned out alright, but they were kinda starchy and the shinpaku was a bit gritty. Any advice to help with that? I kinda wasn't using the right steamer, so it was sorta my fault. Other than that, I think I did okay. I am down for feedback from any cooks though, eastasian especially.

Here is the video of me cooking them if y'all wanna critique: https://www.media fire .com/file/uyc8xfhezcgtjzz/ssstik .io_1726808130547.mp4/file
>>
Looks like shit
>>
>>20849234
Oof.... I guess I am not housewife material then after all.
>>
Oh boy gaiz! I made a rice ball and stuffed shit in it!

Fuck off.
>>
>>20849296
You can't appreciate superior japanese food. Go back to eating your tajin covered gen z slop, normie. Not everything needs 54 spices and gordon ramsay plating to be delicious
>>
>>20849229
>kinda wasn't using the right steamer
?? how did you cook the rice
reconsider your technique for that and it'll be much better, the rice looks completely wrong for a short grain
>kinda starchy
did you wash the rice? you need to, this isn't an option, look up rice washing technique