[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/co/ - Comics & Cartoons

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: IMG_0425.jpg (174 KB, 1710x900)
174 KB
174 KB JPG
I am new to comics. I understand that DC was publishing some artsy comics in the 80's that are still very highly regarded. I want to get into them. Sandman, Hellblazer, Swamp Thing, Doom Patrol. I've heard good things about all of them.

DC's continuity is very confusing to me, but do all these comics take place within the main DC universe (as it existed at the time)? Do these runs get interrupted by events? And are there any other classics I should add to my list?
>>
>>143327490
>I understand that DC was publishing some artsy comics in the 80's that are still very highly regarded.
They were. You sound like a pretentious twat, so you'll probably like them. Read Alan Moore's Swamp Thing (everything after that is "your mileage may vary"), all of Hellblazer, Grant Morrison's Doom Patrol (stop when he leaves), Grant Morrison's Animal Man (stop when he leaves), all of Shade the Changing Man (90s series), all of Starman (90s series), all of Sandman, all of Sandman Mystery Theatre (unrelated to Sandman), all of The Spectre (90s series), and... I'm probably forgetting a few. Maybe someone else can help you there.
>DC's continuity is very confusing to me, but do all these comics take place within the main DC universe (as it existed at the time)?