[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/fit/ - Fitness

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

Questions that don't deserve their own thread.

Noob here.

Started lifting recently, have little strength and very small range of weight that I can add to exercise before I can't do a full set.

Coach recommends rep ranges in 12s or 15s depending on exercise (PPL, if that matters) and I stick to that and always feel like it's not enough. I usually reach failure somewhere at the end of 3rd set. After a full workout I stop feeling any soreness or pump in 10 minutes. The weights must be too light.

On the other hand if I added a measly 2.5 kg I magically lose ability to do a full set. I will reach failure on 1st set after 6 or 8 reps when I'm supposed to do 15. Then I feel nice pump and soreness but everyone always tells me to stick to rep ranges, they talk about too much weight leading to drop in T, form going out the window and strength actually dropping.

Should I increase the weights and go for lower reps, or stick to the reps?
>>
You should be going close to failure (< 3 RIR) (or reaching it entirely) every set. You can't do that without knowing where failure is.
So fuck the rep ranges for one day and rep out your first set to failure as a benchmark if you're not reaching failure in under 20 reps you should increase the weight, I don't care if that takes you down to 8 reps, that's a perfectly fine medium rep range.