[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/g/ - Technology

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: images.png (4 KB, 320x157)
4 KB
4 KB PNG
Don't get me wrong, I love C++, I'm primarily a C++ programmer. But this whole debacle with value categories is just a mess. Apparently an object's value category can be different from its type.

struct Data {
Data(int x) : m_x(x) {}
int m_x;
};

int main() {
Data&& a = Data(42);
}

In this example, 'a' has a type of rvalue-reference, but its value category is an lvalue since it's a named object.
How do we reconcile this while still advocating the language?
>>
>i love c++
you dont use it
>>
>>101196508
Of course I use it. I've been using it for a year and a half. I've made several projects using it including my own portion of the STL.
>>
Categories besides lvalue and rvalue are never worth thinking about when actually writing code. They only exist for the committee to specify behavior for.
>>
>>101196611
>besides lvalue and rvalue

You realize you've just said all 3 value categories right? An rvalue isn't just one thing. It can be either an xvalue or prvalue. A Prvalue is a literal other than a string literal (because string literals like "hello" are stored in the read-only areas of memory and can have their address printed i.e:
std::cout << std::addressof("Hello");

)
And and xvalue. Both of those are technically "rvalues"
>>
>>101196651
>You realize you've just said all 3 value categories right?