[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/g/ - Technology

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: javavsgo.png (161 KB, 800x450)
161 KB
161 KB PNG
If you were to do a startup that required making a fairly simple crud app with a React frontend and some backend, would you use Java (with Spring Boot) or Go for the backend? I have no experience with either, but I hear those are very often used for this kind of thing

Since I am inexperienced, I value simplicity, good documentation, having plenty of tutorials available for things such as authentication, etc...
>>
Either are OK.
I would go with Java if I was to target enterprise and/or work in the data field.
Maybe Go if I wanted to mingle existing system and a quick prototype.
But overall both are more than enough. That's the kind of decision you take based on the hands you have available. Go with the majority knows.
>>
>>102263337
If you don't know either just use Go. You can hack together something in either, it's just Java, especially Spring, is going to assume you're very familiar with OOP design patterns and when you show it off trying to get a job they'll expect you to have a clear grasp of them. Although, if you flip through the Head First book and think "this is genius", go for Java.
>>
>>102263337
Both made-up pajeet languages
gigaC++hads win again
>>
>>102263337
>would you use Java (with Spring Boot) or Go for the backend?
Ruby on Rails
>>
>>102263337
I like go
>>
>>102263337
Personally I like c# and wouldn't really want to work on either
>>
>>102263830