[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/gd/ - Graphic Design

Name
Options
Comment
Verification
4chan Pass users can bypass this verification. [Learn More] [Login]
File
  • Please read the Rules and FAQ before posting.
  • Additional supported file types are: PDF

08/21/20New boards added: /vrpg/, /vmg/, /vst/ and /vm/
05/04/17New trial board added: /bant/ - International/Random
10/04/16New board for 4chan Pass users: /vip/ - Very Important Posts
[Hide] [Show All]

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: buttons-hsl-vs-oklch.png (9 KB, 343x218)
9 KB
9 KB PNG
I'm a frontend dev and just recently found out about color spaces with "perceptually uniform lightness", like LCH or LAB. I started reading on OKLCH and how it's a 'game changer' for accessible colors and dynamic hue swaps since it just got implemented into CSS last year.

Basically, hues in RGB spaces don't have uniform brightness to the eye and if you want to say, change the hue of a blue button to yellow, you have to modify its brightness too. I was promised through all the articles I read I could just change the hue slider and perceptual brightness would remain the same on LCH, but that doesn't seem to be the case in some palettes.

Is this how it's supposed to work or what's going on? I made a quick test and the contrast variation between hues is still quite noticeable

https://codepen.io/throwawaytrash/pen/ExzwGJe
>>
lol bro trying to answer an aesthetic/art theoretical question with code
>>