[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: IMG_3918.jpg (3.75 MB, 3024x4032)
3.75 MB
3.75 MB JPG
Advice frog here (I'm a gigachad artist who's worked professionally, some of my pieces have had 50k+ likes on twitter)

No, drawing more isn't gonna make you a better artist. Rote drawing is the absolute worst form of learning. It teaches you how to freehand curves and straight lines, but past that it doesn't really teach you anything.

10 minutes of quality observation and studying is worth more than a lifetime of rote drawing.

For example: how many hours of drawing are you gonna learn the main muscle groups that goes from shoulderblade to arms (one of the most important places of anatomy to learn)? Some people have drawn their *entire lives* and never learn this. However, 5 minutes spent reading Uldin Zari's Anatomy for Sculptures and you gain this knowledge.

Sure, does practice matter? Yes. But guided practice and being mindful of what exactly you're trying to achieve with this practice is often the most overlooked skill in art education.

img is random sketch of fern I did
>>
File: IMG_3917.jpg (2.95 MB, 3024x4032)
2.95 MB
2.95 MB JPG
one small example of guided practice I did. Here I set out to learn the shoulderblade muscles Teres Major, Intraspinatus, and Deltoid and how they look in practicality.

I used Bernini's sculptures as reference.
>>
>>7130877
>No, drawing more isn't gonna make you a better artist
stopped reading
>>
>>7130877