[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: Untitled.png (148 KB, 520x878)
148 KB
148 KB PNG
Be honest with me, am I never going to get better at Art? I've been drawing for 14 years almost every day and this is the best i can do and it took me 3 hours to draw, are some people just unable to use their brains in an artistic way? Or am I just Retarded?
>>
>>7214762
you haven't done deliberate practice and that's fine because not every person who draws knows about it. now's your chance to start after fourteen years. good luck anon
>>
File: 1713071981456683.jpg (142 KB, 1280x720)
142 KB
142 KB JPG
>>7214762
>I've been drawing for 14 years almost every day
What does this mean in practice? I drew a lot through my teenage years and was seen as "the guy who draws good", but I didn't start getting actually good until picking it back up in my 20s and taking it seriously. It also used to take me multiple hours to draw a shitty figure, until I learned how to learn.
I do think differences in aptitude exist but none of that matters if you're not taking it seriously (rather than casually) in the first place.
>>
>>7214762
How much of that "14 years almost every day" was life drawing? Specifically, figure drawing from life?
>>
>>7214776
>learned how to learn
Well don’t keep the secrets to yourself. I’ve only been drawing for a few months, but I haven’t noticed *any* improvement at all. I also feel like like I don’t know how to learn? What is deliberate practice?