[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

Name
Options
Comment
Verification
4chan Pass users can bypass this verification. [Learn More] [Login]
File
  • Please read the Rules and FAQ before posting.

08/21/20New boards added: /vrpg/, /vmg/, /vst/ and /vm/
05/04/17New trial board added: /bant/ - International/Random
10/04/16New board for 4chan Pass users: /vip/ - Very Important Posts
[Hide] [Show All]

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: Miyuki Ayukawa.jpg (31 KB, 641x549)
31 KB
31 KB JPG
I'm no artist but recently, i had a discussion with my friend in terms of racial features on character designs.

The main question was this: is it okay to give black designs thin lips and straight hair as well as give white characters curly/coily hair and full lips?
Though he's white and i'm black, we both came to the agreement that it's just a fictional design so....who cares?

But recently, I've noticed that some people really don't like it when an artist do this. ESPECIALLY other black people.
For example, they'll claim that it's misrepresenting the black community cause "They're not black enough" or something like that.

I never really cared about that though. The race could be anything. As long as it looks cool, i'm down with it.
I've been like that since i was a kid and haven't put much thought into it until now.

Am i wrong for thinking this way?
>>
>>7215944
Look up "rcdart" if you want to see where thinking like this leads you.