[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/lit/ - Literature

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

I studied Latin in college but haven't practiced it for many years.
It's actually something I really enjoy--recently had a dream where I'm saying,
>"I just want sit down, relax and translate some Latin." lol
And I'm not even saying I used to be good at it--It's just something I enjoy--but, yeah, I'm waaay outta practice.
So I thought, "Hey, why not go word-by-word with Wiktionary thru a famous Latin text and see how that goes?"
I'm choosing the Aeneid because there's a ton of translations to compare to as well as some pretty neat online resources, and because it's probably the most famous Latin text there is.
>9896 lines
So if i do ~27 lines a day I'll be done in a year.
Here's day one I guess.
[28 lines later; posted below]
Totally sloppy.
Still figuring out the best formatting/punctuation for translating here, but I'm sure I'll get more standardized over the coming weeks--I'm not trying to make a real-ass, immaculate translation here, just scratchily recording what I'm picking up and some of my thought processes.

Text:
https://www.thelatinlibrary.com/vergil/aen1.shtml

I'm sure this list of translations/resources will grow:
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/verbum_hīc#Latin
https://www.theoi.com/Text/VirgilAeneid1.html
https://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/text?doc=Perseus%3Atext%3A1999.02.0054%3Abook%3D1%3Acard%3D12
(^this one kinda sucks)
https://www.poetryintranslation.com/PITBR/Latin/VirgilAeneidI.php