[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/mu/ - Music

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

im a bass guitarist who plays decently enough, and ive been recently listening to the great southern trendkill by pantera. i dont usually listen to metal but ive been really enjoying this particular album, which made me consider trying to write more metal-adjacent stuff. thing is, i have some questions about this kind of thing.

1. do i need a distortion for my bass guitar? ive used some before (behringer heavy distortion, boss super feedbacker) but they all seem to make the actual notes hard to hear. probably because i dont have a proper anplifier or cabinet and i just plug my ibanez bass into a carvin pa speaker
2. does being able to make some disco-punk (public image ltd style) adjacent basslines help with the syncopated stuff that groove metal requires as well? theres this recording i have (which i think doesnt actually use a distortion pedal, i just turned the tone knobs up and had it too loud) of me trying to sound like jah wobble that ill show as an example of what i mean by public image ltd style bass
https://voca.ro/1gqwArQT4tLS

pic sorta related, its just rex from pantera
>>
can't go wrong with a youtube search to help you figure out what pedals you need for bass, or just try a bunch at your nearest music equipment store

4chan is just gonna troll you
>>
>>122581618
>4chan is just gonna troll you