[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/o/ - Auto

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: driving-manual.jpg (16 KB, 640x427)
16 KB
16 KB JPG
>bought my first stick shift
>lurching and stalling on the drive home
>drive home was flat, but I'll need to deal with hills
Most of the issue is going from first to second I rev the engine way too much before I let out the clutch, even slightly powershifting it a few times.
I can clutchless shift my bike up and down gears, so I'm not a total noob, but holy fuck everything is backwards in terms of hands and feet.
Are there any tricks? When does it get better? I know all the theory, letting the revs fall to upshift, blipping the downshift, it just all goes out the window when I try to drive it.
>>
>>27601140
Upshifting delay depends on the rev hang. Something like the new WRX has so little rev hang you can just shift quickly and drop the clutch on most upshifts.

You'll get there. Try not to switch your shoes around too much. Practice slow inputs that lead to smooth changes and build speed later. Be sensitive and learn what makes the car happy.

The mantra is: slow is smooth and smooth is fast.
>>
>>27601140
Figure out the difference between 1st and 2nd gear and then just rev match your shifts. Usually 2nd gear is almost twice as long as 1st gear. So e.g. you shift up at 2500rpm, lets say that would put you at 1500rpm in 2nd gear. Just time your clutch release with the rpms hitting 1500rpm (or whatever) and in one quick, smooth motion release the clutch as you get on the gas again.