[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/o/ - Auto

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: Prep work.jpg (429 KB, 1079x712)
429 KB
429 KB JPG
I'm a competent mechanic but I have no clue how to get started with painting and I'd love to learn it more than anything else. Is there anyone here at least somewhat familiar with prep work and painting? I was thinking of getting like harbor freight stuff and throwing up a green house enclosure in my driveway to start but I have no idea how cheap equipment performs, or if its really down to prep work and technique. Right now I'd just like to redo some body panels on 2 of my cars but I don't feel like screwing stuff up. Where should I start with this stuff?
>>
File: 46ldl677.jpg (180 KB, 1024x1024)
180 KB
180 KB JPG
>>27602747
You need the most expensive pads, paint gun, and paint, but the cheapest suit, mask, gloves, and tape. You will screw it up on your first try. It's down to 90% prep and 5% technique and 5% luck. You need to go to a school to learn it or intern and Maaco. I'm not shitting you.
>>
>>27602747
painting, just like dent repair, is something that requires genuine artistic skill, talent, and know how to get right
either find a beater to fuck up on with online tutorials or go to a trade school/apprenticeship program
>>
>>27602747