[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/sci/ - Science & Math

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: 1709429929942.jpg (629 KB, 1078x1211)
629 KB
629 KB JPG
>...and that's how I got my engineering degree! It was tough, but definitely worth it!
What are your thoughts on women getting STEM degrees? Should we encourage women to get more into Biology, Physics, Chemistry or into Mechanical or Electrical Engineering or any other STEM degrees?
>>
>>16377808
Sure.
>>
stem degrees are worthless beyond cs at top unis
>>
>>16377808
Just the smart ones.

>we also need more hot ones.
>>
>>16377818
Any classical engineering (mechanical, chemical, civil or electrical) is pretty good.
>>
>>16377808
>Should we encourage more people of any type to crowd us out of our own profession?
>>>/sci/sqt
>>
>>16377808
"do you remember anything you learned?"
>of course i did anon!
"explain to me what a reynolds number is and why it's important for applications in fluid mechanics"
>uh well it's um... it's one of those... um...

They're really handing out engineering degrees to anyone these days. Everyone knows women can't do STEM.
>>
As someone who works in engineering and now has to deal with 80% of our new hires being women, it’s awful.

I’m convinced beyond all doubt that women’s brains are simply wired differently. They are just not cut out for difficult, technical work.
>>
No, engineering is already jeeted. We don't need more competition from people who actually have work authorization and citizenship.
>>
>>16377992
>engineering is already jeeted