[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/fit/ - Fitness

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: Ez-bar-preacher-curl-1.png (125 KB, 580x431)
125 KB
125 KB PNG
Hi /fit/,

beginner here. This isn't specifically about preacher curls, the question applies to many similar exercises, but I'll use them as an example. I am careful to lower it to complete extension, then I curl the bar up, as I understand loading the muscles under maximum extension is important. But I was wondering - am I supposed to keep constant tension for the entire set, by not raising the bar all the way up? Because once it is completely vertical, there's zero tension on the bicep, until I lower it again.

Best regards,
Anon.
>>
>>75124714
Yeah there are some exercises that have more or less tension at different parts of the movement. Because of the "long length partial" mini-revolution we now know we want either constant tension throughout the whole movement or max tension at the stretched portion, like in a preacher curl. A preacher curl is basically a long-length partial.

In other words it makes no difference if you lift the bar up all the way or not because there isn't any tension at the top of the movement anyway, which is fine
>>
>>75124714
Constant tension is overrated, that said there's value in getting it up there, but no need to hold it up since there's no tension there. Just do slow negatives and a brief hold at whaterever's the lowest point that you take it tokdmpt
>>
>>75124771
>>75124792

Gotcha. Thanks guys!
>>